Another death post…and the comfort of it.

death2

So when you die, will they cry for you?

Here’s an example: “what if your best friend died. and you had to…”
These are usually the examples that I give my students and they absolutely hate it. I tend to enjoy these examples because it makes you think in the worse case scenarios and how to deal with them. No, I don’t only look at the negative side of life or the dark side, but I strongly believe that the most difficult parts of our lives are the most defining moments. So when I tell somebody, “when/If  your loved one dies, how would you react?” I expect a very raw and heartfelt reply.

I expect language to come singing out of their soul, and it has happened a lot of the time. Now, most of the time I get the usual ” let’s not talk about such bad things” but really think about it. Death is defining and really makes you think and think deep.

I believe that something beautiful awaits me after death, and I have faith and I think that the more I welcome it, the better quality of life I have, I don’t welcome it in the sense that I cross the highway without looking. NO. I am a pretty sensible guy, most of the time at least and I am cautious and I do care about my health ( those of you regular readers should know this by now ).

I’d love to reach my near death and smile with a high :D…because I’ll want to meet God and because I’d want to meet him then I’m pretty sure he’ll want to meet me too. But we all hate death and death is such a hard thing, I don’t wanna die just yet, but I’ll want to be ready for it, so hope all this mental prep work helps.

To those non believers and to those who feel like what I wrote above is nonsense, well I hope you feel what I’m feeling right and that’s all I can say but I have a little something for you as well ;).A beautiful poem I came across by Chief Tecumseh that I’d like to share with you. Read till the very end.

“So live your life that the fear of death can never enter your heart. Trouble no one about their religion; respect others in their view, and demand that they respect yours. Love your life, perfect your life, beautify all things in your life. Seek to make your life long and its purpose in the service of your people. Prepare a noble death song for the day when you go over the great divide.

Always give a word or a sign of salute when meeting or passing a friend, even a stranger, when in a lonely place. Show respect to all people and grovel to none.

When you arise in the morning give thanks for the food and for the joy of living. If you see no reason for giving thanks, the fault lies only in yourself.

Abuse no one and no thing, for abuse turns the wise ones to fools
and robs the spirit of its vision. When it comes your time to die, be not like those whose hearts are filled with the fear of death, so that when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again in a different way. Sing your death song and die like a hero going home.”

Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

