The one word that keeps us from greatness

He was having a smoke. It was the weekend and he was out. It’s called social smoking nowadays. It helps with blending in also helps in striking a conversation with strangers, (e.g. do you have a light? oh! Zippo, nice. Where’d you get that one from? Or would you like a light? ). I was having a hamburger and it was the weekend and I was entitled to it. I deserve it, don’t I? I eat healthy all week long and I need my weekly treat. But I wake up feeling horrible the next morning. Heavy and sluggish, maybe cause I ordered the triple whopper with cheese and bacon. But it’s my treat and I only eat that once a week so I might as well go all out. That was 2012 though, I’m sure i’d feel the same now if I did so.

The B student keeps getting B’s cause he just can’t bothered to push through and study more. That isn’t his goal in life. But my goal is to be as healthy as I can . What about my treat? You know what they say : ” Everything in moderation”. That right that’s a recipe for disaster. Actually no, wait its not a disaster, its balance. It’s just a recipe for mediocrity. You wont be at your very best, but you’ll be okay. It’s fine if you don’t want to be world class but what if you want to be really good at it? And better than everyone else? Then moderation is what’s keeping you from it.

So finally the World health organization (WHO) has linked the consumption of meat with cancer and various diseases. But the media tells you, “like my grandma used to say everything in moderation”.

I eat 99% plants ( which means fruits, vegetables, legumes, grains and seeds ). I have never felt better, sharper and conscious. But they tell me to have some animal products, you know moderation. Why would I want to eat something that may or may not cause cancer ? Would you tell someone smoke in moderation? Drink in moderation? Sleep in moderation? Watch tv in moderation? . Probably yes. That’s why we’re not at our best. Quit smoking. Quit animal products. Quit late nights. Quit Tv and watch as you flourish and rise above mediocrity. Every time I stay true to myself and stick to committing a 100%, I feel better a 100%, as soon as I fall back to moderation and tell myself, it’s okay, stay up and watch tv, browse longer, I end up feeling not a 100% and that’s not how I want to function in my life.

So, if you want to be average at anything then do it in moderation.

What is balance anyways? Who made the rules? What’s balance for you isn’t balance for me, it all depends on our life goals. I want 100% a 100% of the time, I just have to stick.

Leave a Reply

