A disease that will take you to your grave

I sit and write this post partly from my grave. Just partly.

When I was 8  years old my only ambitions were to have as much fun as I possibly could. That was pretty much it for me till I was 17 maybe. I was then pressured to think of some career aspiration. No one told me I had to but I was asked that question a lot, so I’d automatically answer ” Computers” . Whatever that meant. I guess I kind of made it since I’m typing off one. A beautiful one if I may add.  I just said computers because my father was an IT person  and I’ve been around them all of my life. But knew nothing about them really. He didn’t really like anyone touching his stuff. Let alone a teenager playing with his precious computers. He’s just like that with his stuff and I understand. Some people are very sentimental with their possessions.

Then I went to university to study business. Most people who don’t have a clue what they want to do with their lives but want a degree, go for a business degree. At 19-20 I believe was when I first heard of triathlon and saw some people logging in crazy amounts of kilometres/miles. I went on my first 7km run and I was in so much pain and out of breath but loved it. I’ve been a runner for as long as I can remember but my furthest run was 3k. So I was hooked and was so impressed with how swimming, cycling and running could be one sport. I then decided I was going to be PRO. I was 19-20. I’m 26 now. That’s not going to happen now. I don’t want to anymore. Priorities  have changed  and so have aspirations but that’s beside the point. At 19 I said someday I’ll be pro but never really took the steps.

At the age of 21 I said someday I’ll do my masters in California, probably at Cal state long beach. I don’t have any desire to study at any universities anymore. I think they’re all a waste of time, money and you could be doing a lot more with your life then getting into debt to then get a job to pay the debt for 10 years ( if I’m lucky) . It’s all a scam.That’s besides the point though. At the age of 24 I wanted to publish a book. I’m 26 now and I’m swamped with work. There’s still hope for that now though. But that’s beside the point. I think I could have at least published 2 book by now. Self publish that is.

At  the age of 23 I wanted to start a Youtube channel and share my experiences with the world.  I told myself I’ll someday be a huge Youtube success and i’ll be influencing a lot of people to get fit, start their own business, be minimalists, eat more fruits etc..I started at 25 and at 26 I took it serious. I now barely have a 100 views.

I’m saying too much but not really making sense. Right?

“SOMEDAY is a disease that will take your dreams to the grave with you.”

When is someday okay?

Someday is okay when you are already working towards your goals and are taking the required steps to go bigger or even take the next step. A good example I can use about myself is I’ll someday get the Sony rx100 iv or the canon g7x or even the canon 70D to make beautiful videos BUT i’m currently already filming and making the best videos I can with what I have. That someday is valid. If I die today. I take the disease to the grave and not the other way around. I die leaving behind videos that had room for improvement. And what doesn’t?

Don’t someday your dreams. Don’t take all of that to the grave with you.

I want to go to the grave as light as possible.

 

 

 

One thought on “A disease that will take you to your grave

  1. Pingback: How to turn exercise into adventure | A little bit of my brain

Leave a Reply

