How and why to be like Forrest Gump

My momma always said, “Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” Its been 22 years since that quote has become a legendary one.

I’ve always wanted to write about fictional characters that inspire me to be better. Then I thought, wait! I have a blog, I can write about whatever I want right! Yes I can. 

I will start writing more and more about fictional characters and how we can learn from them without really being them. First on the list: Forrest Gump.

How to be like him:

  1. Always do what you need to do without thinking about anything else. You have a task to complete? Then do it. You need to write an assignment? Do it. Do not stall. Forrest Gump always did what he had to do and he never let distraction get in the way of his business. Even though he wasn’t that bright. His commitment to excellence is what made him stand out.  So just do it.“You have to do the best with what God gave you.” – Mrs. Gumpyes drill
  2. Don’t overthink life. Forrest lived his life in the best way he knew how and didn’t worry himself with the little details. He only asked his mother once and that was that, he just lived life doing the best he can what he had, always giving it a 100%. Whether it was relationships, work or education.
    Forrest: What’s my destiny, Mama?
    Mrs. Gump: You’re gonna have to figure that out for yourself.
  3. Be loyal. Forrest was one of the most loyal people you’d ever meet. He cherished friendships and you always knew that he would have your back, even when you have bad days and treat him like dirt ( Like jenny who was practically  having nothing but bad days ) he’ll understand, give you your space and will be there for you when you need him the most. Or like when he went back for his best friend during the war even though his sergeant ordered him not to and there were bombs flying all over the place. He went back anways.Be as loyal as Forrest. That’s a new quote for you
  4. Always look at the bright side of everything. And I mean everything. No matter how bad you think things are, there’s always something positive to be said. Reminds me of the time it rained for 4 months straight in Vietnam while they were in the war, all he had to say was: “One day it started raining, and it didn’t quit for four months. We been through every kind of rain there is. Little bitty stingin’ rain… and big ol’ fat rain. Rain that flew in sideways. And sometimes rain even seemed to come straight up from underneath. Shoot, it even rained at night…”
  5. Keep your promises. Forrest was big on keeping promises. After his best friend and him discussed about getting into the shrimping business after the war was over and then his friend ended up dying in battle. He opened up a  business anyways, even though he had no idea about the shrimping business. He went ahead and did it anyways. Which takes us back to point 1.
  6. And last but not least RUN. I don’t think any runner doesn’t know the quote “Run Forrest, Run”. Forrest was an avid runner and did it for no particular reason. He just ran because he could and because he enjoyed it. Here’s Forrest take on running all over America. “That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a little run. So I ran to the end of the road. And when I got there, I thought maybe I’d run to the end of town. And when I got there, I thought maybe I’d just run across Greenbow County. And I figured, since I run this far, maybe I’d just run across the great state of Alabama. And that’s what I did. I ran clear across Alabama. For no particular reason I just kept on going. I ran clear to the ocean. And when I got there, I figured, since I’d gone this far, I might as well turn around, just keep on going. When I got to another ocean, I figured, since I’d gone this far, I might as well just turn back, keep right on going.” – Forrest

Why be like Forrest? 

Because he is at peace. He is productive and he is lovable. He may not be the brightest, but he knows what love is. Be just a little like Forrest and you’ll be better for it .

Don’t be your normal self.
“What’s normal anyways?”-Forrest

Leave a Reply

