The verse that always saves me

Before you continue reading. If you’re not spiritual/religious or feel the need to blow up a certain sect/religion then this post isn’t for you. Or if you’re the type that just believe in your religion and no one else’s then this post also isn’t for you. Not hating. Just saving you the trouble. We are all free to pursue whatever we will.

I usually don’t..actually I never write about religion or spirituality. I try to stay away from certain topics and religion is one of them. But this was just too good to keep myself and I’m the type that likes to share my happiness and life with others. In the hope that it could maybe just help one person . And that’s good enough for me.

Now, before I go on. I by no means am standing on a pedestal and think of myself as a higher authority or a holier than thou kind of dude. I have my struggles and I like you, am still trying to figure out this whole life thing. It’s going pretty good.  I just want to be better and that is the daily grind.To be better. I think we’re all on the same page.

So heres my first ever post where I talk directly talk about religion, faith and God. The reason that I have decided to talk about it is as mentioned above, it has helped me and it may and just may help somebody else.

I try and be close to God and we all know how hard that it is in 2016. But I try. It’s something I revise a lot and always need improvement on. So anyways, as a practising muslim I read our holy book whenever I can, aka the Quran. And there’s a verse there that personally always helps me out. The verse is in Arabic, but it translates to “We surely belong to Allah and to Him we shall return.”  Allah meaning God. Now, how does this help me you ask?

The phrase is recited by Muslims when a person experiences a tragedy in life,especially upon hearing news that a person has died.The phrase may also be recited in situations that involve risk of any sort. So I took it up as a habit and started saying it when ever anything would happen to me. Minor or Major. And I cannot believe how it ALWAYS and I mean always saves me. It just gets me out of whatever kind of trouble I’m in.

The reason that I decided to write about it today after countless saves was because today was a pure miracle. Here’s the story: I have a set of locker keys that have access to my files at work. I always put these keys in my wallet for some stupid reason instead of my actual key chain where all the keys are. Today I get to work and open my wallet to take the keys and……” Nothing. The keys aren’t there. I start to panic. I think I have the only key to this drawer. And it would make me look very irresponsible at work. So what do I do?

I google “How to pick….” and it was like magic. It was like google was waiting for me to write that in because it filled the gap in for me. “How to pick a lock”.  I then said that magical/spiritual verse, took a deep breath and started picking the lock with two paper pins. After failing miserably and realising that I’m no good with locks I come to my senses and decide to tell my supervisor.

As I was going to his office I take out my wallet just to triple check and started shaking it down, and I KID YOU NOT , the key came flying out of there and slid right next to my supervisor’s door.  That to me is an act of God. A very clear one and it’s something I just feel like sharing. And that’s it.

Before ending this post I’d like to think that all of this comes with a package. Pray, fast, be good etc . I have to put in the effort in order to receive God’s help, that’s what I believe at least. But what I really believe? God is all merciful.

I just need to be better

 إِنَّا للهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعونَ

Leave a Reply

