The full moon race report

Now this race name I made up. It’s actually called ” The NBH Duathlon Race” . It was a night race, my first ever night race but the moon was glowing so beautifully I decided to call it the full moon race.

It was 6pm and I was still deciding whether or not I should participate in the race.I finally convinced myself to do it anyways. Its a short race and it’s a duathlon ( run-bike- run ) . The distances were 2.5km run- 10km bike- 1.25 run

Now the race is literally a sprint. Everyone’s moving fast and everyone thinks they were going to finish any moment now. And that’s exactly where most people failed. They thought they could go all out and they’d finish. From my racing experience, you never ever go full gas. EVER. Unless you actually trained specifically for it and in your training sessions you have gone out full gas.

With all of my racing experience ( mainly bad ) , I think I know a thing or two about pacing and finishing strong.

So let’s start with the run. 3 2 1 …. GO

FULL GAS EVERYONE.

I pace myself carefully and then catch up with an upcoming star triathlete May Al haji. Now May is a very strong triathlete who trains hard consistently, but was having a little bit of a hard time during the first run so I decided to pace her and stay with her. I kept on trying to give tips and motivate her during the run, I don’t know if it was working or I was being annoying. We ran the whole run together till the end and then during transition we took off together and then her being a strong cyclist I drafted off her. It was beautiful, fast and well aligned. If you don’t know what drafting is, I urge you to youtube ” bike drafting ” or just click here.

Drafting or slipstreaming is a technique where two bikes or other moving objects are caused to align in a close group reducing the overall effect of drag due to exploiting the lead object’s slipstream. Especially when high speeds are involved, as in motor racing and cycling, drafting can significantly reduce the pace line’s  average energy expenditure required to maintain a certain speed and can also slightly reduce the energy expenditure of the lead vehicle or object.

Behind me were two more guys. May had created a train of cyclists all behind her. The energy was just magnificent. After the first lap I didn’t know I had to u-turn so I did another 100-150 meters and lost the pack. I quickly found someone else to cling to, as I hadn’t trained well so I needed someone else’s effort. A good strong cyclist named Mubarak I believe ( this could be wrong)  was the one I ended up drafting the second half of the bike leg. Finished the bike pretty fresh. The last leg of the run was fast. I promised not to go hard. I paced well till the last 100m I went all out. I was breathing heavily and the cones were there to help my brain.

Me: Brain, just one more cone

Body: Okay.

Me: Just one more

Brain: okay

Then I passed around 7 cones going hard. I finished the total race in a time of 39 minutes and 40 seconds.

NUTRITION:

I had dates and water to break my fast ( it’s ramadan for those who don’t know ) and then had ate some tofu, vegetables and white steamed rice. All easy to digest and all carbs. 2 hours later I drank around 700ml of coconut water and headed to the race. During the bike leg I just had one sip of water because I was dry and that was all..

 

Here’s all of the behind the scenes. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

