Please don’t quit junk food, drugs and alcohol

We were all brought up to not be quitters right?

I guess the same goes for all our bad habits. We should never really quit anything. Unless it’s a horrible job, then yes quit it. But maybe even that we shouldn’t quit.

Quitters are for losers. Next time you see a loved one smoking, applaud them please.
Same goes for all you MacDonald eaters. Don’t you ever quit that sh**.

Capisce?

Ok good. Now that we have that out of the way, it’s time to talk you out of those nasty habits. I stopped being a quitter for a while. I mean I definitely have my moments of mortality where I do quit, but I can proudly say that I’ve come a long way. Ok I’ll stop being pretentious and say that it wasn’t that long. It’s a pretty short way but it’s still progress.

So let me start with something I actually didn’t quit. Animal products and highly processed food. These were foods that I could not quit. At first I didn’t even think that there was anything wrong with it. I was never much of a processed food guy but animals I loved eating. Especially duck. Now that was one delicious aquatic bird. Then there was dairy milk. I used to drink sometimes up to a litre of dairy milk. And then I read that chocolate milk was the best thing you could have after a workout. So I ended up having chocolate milk after every workout. Fun,ha!

After a hard time digesting that after a workout and learning of the dangers of animal protein, carcinogen etc I knew it was best to quit. But I didn’t. My mother didn’t raise me to be a quitter. So I made a conscious choice. But before I did that, here’s what I did.

  • Education– I educated myself  about food. Real food. I learnt about a whole foods, a plant based diet that was full of nutrients, vitamins and antioxidants.
  • Trial and error– I started trying out new foods. Experimenting, mixing and matching. Finding alternatives to what I used to eat. Tried eating fruit as meals etc..
  • Chose myself – I chose myself. I chose to put my body before corporations. I chose to live a vibrant life. I chose to feel good. I chose to not be scammed. I chose to eat colourful. I chose to eat whole live foods. I chose me, because no one else would put me before them but ME.

After all that I didn’t quit eating animals. I just chose to eat a plant based diet. I made a choice but didn’t quit. I chose. I keep repeating it because it’s a lot easier to choose not to than to quit. Educate yourself, try, and then choose yourself. Rise above it and choose what’s best for YOU.

If you’re in a job you hate, then choose to look for a better one or even start a business maybe? . If you hate your eating habits then maybe choose to learn about a plant based diet and choose to try it out. Wanna get fit, then choose to stop reading this and go move your beautiful God given body. Hate the Nicotine stains and want to always smell like a Gucci ad, then choose oxygen over carbon. You like art? Choose a nice canvas and go crazy.

Choose wisely now.

Leave a Reply

