Coffee is not free you know..

You wake up, get a cup of coffee and start  your day. As soon as you do that you’re in debt.

 

Now going off topic

Coffee has countless of benefits, I won’t get into that. But coffee is a very controversial fruit. Yes, for those of you who don’t know, coffee is a fruit and not a bean. They are called beans because of its resemblance to true beans.

Coffee grows on trees as well. Fun fact. Here are a few more fun facts about coffee. coffee has the potential to take on a diverse range of fruit flavors. Depending on the variety, the roast, and the brewing method, coffee can be brewed to taste like white grape, lemon zest, plum juice, strawberry jam, etc. Prior to the past decade or so, coffee was commonly roasted darker in order to make it taste like chocolate or caramel. But in recent years, roasters have started to pay more attention to the beans’ more flowery, naturally occurring flavours.

The one kind of coffee I really want to taste is mushroom coffee. I think I’ll order me a bag soon.

Back to topic. Caffeine is bad stuff — especially if you have issues with fatigue and TBI. I mean, seriously, when I’m fatigued, I need to rest and recuperate, not push myself through like I always do. That fries my system and makes sure I’m in a persistent state of fight-flight. I know for a fact that that’s no good — it makes it difficult to learn and use higher cognitive functions. And the longer and more intensely I use caffeine, the more I’m stressing my system and whacking it out and jeopardizing my recovery.

Caffeine is neurotoxin alkaloid. It stops insects eating plants. It works by being a very similar shape to adenosine, a nucleotide which is very important in energy transfer and neurotransmission. Adenosine inhibits nerve firing because it prevents the release of excitatory neurochemicals such as serotonin and acetylcholine.

So, basically, it’s keeping my body from putting the brakes on, disguising fatigue from the receptors that are built to realize when there’s a bunch of adenosine in my system.

That can’t be good, if I’m running out of steam and genuinely need to rest. Basically, it sounds like caffeine is tricking my body into picking up speed, when it should be doing just the opposite.

So, here’s this neurotoxin getting into my system, pumping me up and cranking out those neurochemicals. It might not seem like such a bad thing, but I’ve also heard that part of the excitory activity actually comes from the body’s defense response to a perceived threat from the caffeine, which some have called a natural pesticide. So, my system is getting a dose of pesticide and going into fight-flight mode to defend itself from this threat I’m introducing on purpose, which then makes me feel like I’m doing better, when it’s really the adrenaline that’s coursing through my veins that’s telling me that.

I don’t actually become better. I just feel like I am.

I use caffeine solely as an emergency fight or flight situation. Like If I have a deadline that I HAVE to meet, a project to finish, stayed up late reading and watching pointless stuff and I have to spend with the family next morning. These are the situation I absolutely use caffeine as a drug to mask my fatigue.

Overall, I wouldn’t be concerned in the slightest about caffeine so long as you do not experience any adverse effects and average consumption is below 500mg. In fact, due to the beneficial properties of caffeine—not to mention the additional benefits from coffee, tea, and chocolate—I would personally recommend low to moderate consumption of caffeine. Whether you consume caffeine it is, of course, your choice.However, I wouldn’t be concerned with the fact that caffeine could technically be classified as a neurotoxin or “natural pesticide”. As the cliché toxicological phrase goes, it’s the dose that makes the poison.

But if you do drink it and you’re fatigued. Know that you’ll be paying for it.

So treat caffeine like a credit card. Consume now, pay later.

 

Leave a Reply

