The power of community

I have failed miserably at my writing streak.  I don’t even know where I stand at it. I didn’t bother checking and I won’t check, you can check if you want though. 

All I know is that this post will mark, my failure. And that is absolutely beautiful. With every failure it carries a beautiful seed of an equal or great benefit. And I believe that Ellen said it best ” When you take risks you learn that there will be times when you succeed and there will be times when you fail, and both are equally important.”.

I took the risk of saying that I’m going on a writing streak. I took the risk of failing. It was a high risk and I couldn’t be any prouder. Some failures are worse than others. In other aspects of my life I always measure risk and like it to be right in the middle. A 50% is pretty good, anything higher than it better be a pretty important risk that has a hell of a return.

Risk on self development is where I usually aim for the sky. I have nothing to lose at ALL. All I have is gain, gain, and gain. Sure others may doubt me and think little of me for not sticking to what I said I’ll do. But hey, that’s life and people will talk regardless So do you’re thing and set unrealistic and crazy goals. Why not? Life’s long. Live it dangerously. Now that I’m feeling all high spirited. I must say that this boost in morale is due to community.

A dear old time friend of mine on Facebook posted, how about a 45 day challenge till the end of the year? Let’s challenge ourselves and make a good habit out of it while we’re at it. If you know me, I always say No to such challenges. I’m more of a lone wolf when it comes to work, self development and challenges. But I have failed, time and time again. I needed something fresh. This beautiful soul put her self out there and created a group where we all get to challenge ourselves till the end of the year. Now, that’s power.

I jumped right in and took the opportunity. I really needed to write. I’ve missed writing. I’ve missed unclogging my brain, I’ve missed being controversial, I’ve missed getting messages from people thanking me. I’ve missed all of that.

And thanks to her. I am writing again. Thanks to her a group of people are exercising, eating better and excited for their new and improved lives. That is what community is all about. Empowering, encouraging and engaging with one another for the greater benefit of our selves and society.

Thank you for making us do something that we wanted to do but lacked initiative.

You probably needed the motivation yourself though.

 

 

Leave a Reply

