Don’t do it for at least 30 mins a day

That’s when you know you’ve destined the majority for failure. 

I’m quoting that the first sentience of my post from advice I read that was being given on social media. I personally think it’s great. When we feel good doing something, we usually want others to experience it as well. Be it exercise or a skill. 
Here’s the thing, that post was about exercise. And this is why I disagree with how it won’t really work. Or it did and it could do better. 
When someone has no desire to change, the worst thing you can say is “the least you can do is…”
When you don’t want to do it at all, you don’t want to hear about doing it for 30 mins. That’s a life time. It baffles me when a coach tells their client 30 minutes on the treadmill. Or when a teacher gives their students tedious homework. 
Sure it could be done, but there’s no longevity in this process. 

When you start slowly injecting healthy doses of what you need to do, you will automatically want more of it. But only when YOU decide it’s what YOU need. 
When you tell someone who’s out of shape to get on the treadmill for 5 minutes, they will absolutely do it. It’s just too easy. 
If I have to read book or exercise. I start with a page a day. 10 mins a day of exercise. Who can’t do that? 
Once I get into rhythm, I will voluntarily want more because it makes me feel good, and I want more, because I feel like and not because it’s a daunt open me. 
 Don’t set yourself up for failure. Don’t set other up for failure. Don’t tell people what to do, and if you have to, make it so simple they won’t to do it anyways because we are complex like that. 
Now excuse me as I go read one page. 

Leave a Reply

