The funeral

A few days ago I attended a funeral. I assisted in burying a man.

I assisted in carrying but not in burying truth be told. As I saw people bury the body everything in my head was in slow motion. The dust, the wrapped body, the faces, some sad and some expressionless. For a split second I felt more alive than ever. I was standing above ground. Above the dirt. I had a shot. Just one more shot to redeem myself.

I more shot to smile, feel and do. My ideal funeral is one where I’m being buried and everyone is high fiving each other, laughing, smiling and talking about how great I made them feel and how fully I lived. Usually when people are like that the harder the cries. But I’d prefer smiles and laughs. Pretty silly.

I want to attend more funerals now. They are a great reminder of how short life can be.

 

3 thoughts on “The funeral

  1. Funerals do remind us how short and precious life is. I used to like walking in cemetaries for the same reason, just to remind myself to live, live, live.

    • Think a bit further while walking in the symmetry and think about what have you prepared for the hereafter? You still have a chance to do more and hopefully enter heaven. The buried on the other hand are unable to do anything or get any rewards except for what they have already did during their lifetime and people’s prayers for them

Leave a Reply

